How do I replace a syllabus file?

There are many ways to add syllabi to Canvas courses. The steps below cover how to replace a syllabus based on the two most common methods linked syllabi are added. 

Single File Upload

If your Canvas Syllabus tool only includes a link to the syllabus file, can replace the file with another file by following the steps below.

  1. Click on the blue Replace with a new file button. A pop-up will appear.arrow poining to button to Replace with a new file
  2. Within the pop-up window, select the radio button for my computer if you want to upload a new file or my course's Files if you already uploaded the new syllabus file to the Canvas Files tool. 
    Pop-up window with options for how to select the new file
  3. Click Choose file and select the updated syllabus from your computer.
  4. Select a usage right. Syllabi usually have the 'I hold the copyright' option. 
  5. Click Replace

Please note that when you replace your syllabus file from the Syllabus tool, the original syllabus file is still available in your Canvas Files tool. We recommend that you go to the course Files tool and delete the old syllabus. 

Link to Syllabus with other text

If you have a syllabus file surrounded by other text or media, follow the steps below to replace your syllabus link.

  1. Click on the Edit button in the upper right. 
    arrow pointing to the Edit button
  2. Highlight the existing syllabus link and delete it.
    syllabus text highlighted with other word left not highlighted
  3. Leaving your cursor where you want the new syllabus to go, click Insert > Document > Upload Document.
    Flow to get from Insert to Document to Course Documents
  4. Click the rocket ship, select the syllabus file, scroll down to set usage rights, and click Submit.
  5. You will see your new syllabus file blink yellow in the text editor. 
    RCE box with text, including new syllabus link
  6. Once ready, click Update Syllabus.

Please note that when you replace your syllabus file from the Syllabus tool, the original syllabus file is still available in your Canvas Files tool. We recommend that you go to the course Files tool and delete the old syllabus.